map markerInternational Athletes Triumph at Northampton Sports Awards 2016


YoungSportswoman Winner EllieRobinsonNorthampton Leisure Trust hosted its 9th annual Sports Awards on 20 October in partnership with Northampton Borough Council to celebrate the achievements of everyone involved in local sport from grassroots to international success. Winners included Paralympic Gold Medallist Eleanor Robinson from Northampton Swimming Club and British Boxing team member Chantelle Cameron from Far Cotton Boxing Club.




The evening was hosted by Lennie Newman from BBC Radio Northampton at The Guildhall and also included a Q&A session with David Buchanan from Northampton Town Football Club. With close to 100 nominations across the categories, the standard of nominations continues to grow each year along with the number of different sports represented.

Harvey Morgan, Senior Sport and Health Development Officer at Northampton Leisure Trust said,

“The event was a real success and a great way of recognising and rewarding Northampton’s sports clubs, performers, coaches, volunteers and schools. We would like to say a huge thank you to our generous sponsors without whom the event wouldn’t be possible and wish our award winners every success at the county awards in November.”

Northampton Leisure Trust will be opening nominations for the 2017 awards on January 1st 2017. Nominations can be made at any time during the year here.



Full List of Awards:

Young Sportswoman of the Year
(Sponsored by Northamptonshire Sport)
Winner: Eleanor Robinson (N’pton Swimming Club)
Runners up: Emily Williams (Northampton School for Girls/Kettering Town Harriers) & Rosie Foden (N’pton Swimming Club)

Young Sportsman of the Year
(Sponsored by Knight, Kavanagh and Page)
Winner: Eithan James (Kings Heath Boxing Club)
Runners up: Leo Barker (GKR Karate) & Tom Symons (Pro Martial Arts)

Young Leader of the Year
(Sponsored by Healthwatch Northamptonshire)
Winner: Abbie Thompson (Lings Primary School)

Primary Sports School of the Year
(Sponsored by Friday Legal)
Winner: Weston Favell CE Primary School
Runners up: Boothville Primary School & Blackthorn Academy

Secondary Sports School of the Year
(Sponsored by MacIntyre Hudson)
Winner: Northampton School for Boys
Runner up: Malcolm Arnold Academy

Get Active 2016 Award
(Sponsored by Northampton Borough Council)
Winner: David Smith
Runners up: Monica Darby & Jack Cobley

Community Club of the Year
(Sponsored by Travis Perkins)
Winner: Northampton ON Chenecks FC
Runners up: Northampton Basketball Club & Northampton Swimming Club

Team of the Year
(Sponsored by Cybex)
Winner: Northampton Express Fours
Runners up: Northampton Demons ARLFC & UON Hockey 1st Team

Coach of the Year
(Sponsored by University of Northampton)
Winner: Arthur Daly (Kings Heath Boxing Club)
Runners up: Stuart Seery (Northampton Parks Tennis) & Tony Warren (Northampton Express Bowls Club)

Volunteer of the Year
(Sponsored by Nottingham Community Housing Association)
Winner: Walter Merino (N’pton Judo Club)
Runners up: Adrian Wake (N’pton Coys Touch Rugby) & Robery White (N’pton Express bowls Club)

Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year
(Sponsored by David Smith Associates)
Winner: Eleanor Robinson (N’pton Swimming Club)
Runners up: Claire Stancliffe (N’pton Town FC) & Maisie Summers-Newton (N’pton Swimming Club)

Local Sportswoman of the Year
(Sponsored by BBC Radio Northampton)
Winner: Chantelle Cameron (Far Cotton Boxing Club)
Runners up: Susan Corless (N’pton Archery Club) & Sofia Jankiewicz (British Dressage)

Local Sportsman of the Year
(Sponsored by Northampton Magazines)
Winner: Christopher Willies
Runners up: Carl Fail (Far Cotton Boxing Club) & Voctor Oyesola (UON Athletics Club)

Long Time Contribution to Sport
(Sponsored by Speedo)
Winner: Grahame Yates (Basketball)
Runners up: Brian Juffkins (Rugby) & Jane Pell (Gymnastics)